Center for Journalism Ethics announces 2019 Shadid finalists

MADISON – The Center for Journalism Ethics at UW-Madison announced this week it has selected five entries as finalists for the 2019 Anthony Shadid Award.

The winner will be announced March 14 and will receive the award at a May 14 ceremony at the University Club in New York City.

The finalists are: Julie K. Brown and Emily Michot of the Miami Herald; Garance Burke and Martha Mendoza of The Associated Press; Hannah Dreier of ProPublica; David Jackson, Jennifer Smith Richards, Gary Marx and Juan Perez, Jr., of the Chicago Tribune; and Maggie Michael, Nariman El-Mofty and Maad al-Zikry of The Associated Press.

The Shadid Award honors journalists who exhibit a strong commitment to ethical journalism by acting with integrity, honoring ethical principles in their reporting or resisting pressure to compromise ethical principles. It is unique in recognizing the ethical challenges journalists face in balancing the interests of sources, subjects and the public.

» Read more