Shadid Award for Journalism Ethics nominations due Jan. 14

MADISON – The Center for Journalism Ethics is seeking nominations for the Anthony Shadid Award for Journalism Ethics, the Center announced Monday. The deadline for submissions is Jan. 14, 2020.

anthony shadid, shadid award for journalism ethics
Anthony Shadid (Wisconsin State Journal file photo)

The Shadid Award, now in its 11th year, recognizes ethical decisions in reporting stories in any medium, including print, broadcast and digital, by journalists working for established news organizations or publishing individually. The award focuses on current journalism and does not include books, documentaries or other long-term projects.

The award differs from other journalism honors in seeking to recognize the difficult, behind-the-scenes decisions reporters make in pursuing high-impact stories and in fulfilling their ethical obligations to sources, to people caught up in news events and to the public at large.

Previous winners of the award include:

  • 2019: Julie K. Brown and Emily Michot, Miami Herald
  • 2018: Brian Grow and John Shiffman, Reuters
  • 2017: Shane Bauer, Mother Jones
  • 2016: Martha Mendoza, Margie Mason, Robin McDowell and Esther Htusan, Associated Press
  • 2015: David Jackson, Gary Marx, Duaa Eldeib and Anthony Souffle, Chicago Tribune
  • 2014: Adam Goldman, Matt Apuzzo and Ted Bridis, Associated Press

Anthony Shadid, a graduate of UW-Madison and former advisory board member of the Center for Journalism Ethics, died in 2012 on a reporting assignment in Syria for The New York Times. He won two Pulitzer Prizes for his courageous and insightful foreign correspondence.

» Read more