High School Better Newspaper Contest

High School Better Newspaper Contest

The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation’s Better Newspaper Contest recognizes student achievements in high school newspapering. The panel of judges includes publishers, general managers, editors, reporters, photographers, copy editors and other staffers.

Download rules and categories for the 2018-19 contest

Visit the contest website to submit your entries

Deadline to enter is 10:59 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 21, 2019. All mailed entries must be postmarked by this date.

Questions about the contest? Contact WNA Membership & Programming Specialist Jordan Schelling at jordan.schelling@wnanews.com or 608-283-7622.

Why you should enter:

  • Your newspaper will be judged by leaders in the newspaper industry, and each entry receives personalized, detailed feedback and suggestions from the judges!
  • Entries are judged on the quality of students’ work — not the page count of the publication, the size of the school or the newspapers’ budgets.
  • By entering, you’ll keep your students motivated to produce quality work. A representative from the local paper or from WNA will come to your school to present winners with plaques and certificates during your school’s year-end ceremony.

Each student newspaper winning first place for General Excellence will be given a $1,000 Branen Scholarship: WNAF’s only family-sponsored award. Awarded annually since 1992, it is named for William E. Branen, former publisher and president of the weekly Burlington Standard Press. Branen went to Burlington as a reporter after his graduation from the University of Wisconsin and in 1953 became the state’s youngest editor.

Branen served in every office of the Wisconsin Press Association (a forerunner to the WNA) and was elected as its president in 1964. He was also among the earliest weekly publishers to recognize the importance of developing technology to newspapers and helped establish Southern Lakes Publishers, Inc., whose seven publishers organized the nation’s first central plant for offset printing multiple newspapers. He died in 1988.