Sign In
Contact Us
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn You Tube

WNA Memorial Grove


Since members of the Wisconsin Newspaper Association began the Press Forest south of Eagle River in 1958, they have been honoring the memory of those who have contributed to the advancement of journalism in Wisconsin.

When the tradition began, the names of deceased member publishers were printed on press plates and hung from wooden structures. Families, friends and members of the newspaper industry would travel to the area each year to pay tribute.

Over time, the names began to fade. In 2014, a more permanent monument was erected on the Trees For Tomorrow campus. WNA Memorial Grove consists of five granite pylons and several benches that provide visitors a place to reflect. The effort was made possible by donor contributions and the sponsorship of the WNA Foundation.

Members continue to honor former publishers each year at a ceremony during the Trees Retreat and by visiting the Memorial Pylon throughout the year.

Make a Donation


The names of every publisher who has been memorialized on the pylon are listed below in alphabetical order. Use the arrows to scroll between pages or use the search feature to locate publishers by name, newspaper or the year they were added to the pylon. Click a name or photo for more information about the publisher.

The WNA has complete profiles and photos of honorees who have been added to the pylon since 2007, but we would love to include more! If you have photos, profile information or an obituary for any of the publishers listed below, contact WNA Membership & Communications Director Julia Hunter.

    • Don Abert
    • The Journal Company, Milwaukee
    • John P. Adams
    • Belleville Recorder
    • Marian Adams
    • The Belleville Recorder
    • 1925 - 2012
    • Russell K. Akey
    • Randolph Advance
    • Bert Amacher
    • Medford Star News
    • Don Anderson
    • Wisconsin State Journal, Madison
    • Elmer L. Anderson
    • Sauk Prairie Star, Sauk City
    • Robert (Bob) D. Anderson
    • The Star News, Medford
    • 1922 - 2011
    • Lela Andrews
    • Richland Democrat, Richland Center
    • Larry W. Antony Jr.
    • Fond du Lac Reporter
    • 1948 - 2013
    • Lester L. Arnold
    • Rib Lake Herald
    • Florence D. Arnold
    • Wonewoc Reporter
    • Laurence L. Arnold
    • New Lisbon Times Argus; Juneau County Star Times, Mauston; Albany Herald
    • 1923 - 2011
    • Marshall B. Atkinson
    • Eau Claire Leader-Telegram
    • Harold B. Atterbury
    • Dodgeville County Independent News, Juneau
    • Annabel L. Atterbury
    • Hustiford News, Juneau Independent
    • Lois E. Aubinger
    • Ashwaubenon Howard-Suamico Press
    • Michael Aubinger
    • The Press, Ashwaubenon
    • 1953 - 2017
    • Allan Augustin
    • Glenwood City Tribune
    • Anthony W. Bakken
    • Rio Journal
    • Florence Bakken
    • Rio Journal
    • James Barager
    • Owen Enterprise
    • Virginia A. Barager
    • Owen Enterprise
    • Edward M. Bardill
    • Spooner Advocate
    • Jack Barenbaum
    • Manitowoc Herald Times Reporter
    • Alfred Bauer
    • Bloomer Advance
    • Alfred (Al) Bauer
    • Bloomer Advance
    • 1929 - 2007
    • George Bauman
    • Cudahy Enterprise
    • A.M. Bearder
    • Lake Geneva Regional News
    • Donald W. Bearder
    • Lake Geneva Regional News
    • 1933 - 2015
    • George Bechtel
    • Iowa County Democrat-Tribune
    • 1919 - 2014
    • William D. Behling
    • Beloit Daily News
    • 1928 - 2013
    • A. Leon Beier
    • The Cornell Courier
    • Daniel C. Beisel
    • Green Bay Press-Gazette
    • 1916 - 2009
    • Mark R. Bell
    • Ladysmith News
    • Donald Bell
    • The Ladysmith News; Bloomer Advance
    • Carrol Benson
    • West Allis Star
    • Marie F. Berner
    • Antigo Daily Journal
    • 1912 - 2011

Want to receive emails from the WNA?


WordPress Video Lightbox