Sign In
Contact Us
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn You Tube

WNA Memorial Grove


Since members of the Wisconsin Newspaper Association began the Press Forest south of Eagle River in 1958, they have been honoring the memory of those who have contributed to the advancement of journalism in Wisconsin.

When the tradition began, the names of deceased member publishers were printed on press plates and hung from wooden structures. Families, friends and members of the newspaper industry would travel to the area each year to pay tribute.

Over time, the names began to fade. In 2014, a more permanent monument was erected on the Trees For Tomorrow campus. WNA Memorial Grove consists of five granite pylons and several benches that provide visitors a place to reflect. The effort was made possible by donor contributions and the sponsorship of the WNA Foundation.

Members continue to honor former publishers each year at a ceremony during the Trees Retreat and by visiting the Memorial Pylon throughout the year.

Make a Donation


The names of every publisher who has been memorialized on the pylon are listed below in alphabetical order. Use the arrows to scroll between pages or use the search feature to locate publishers by name, newspaper or the year they were added to the pylon. Click a name or photo for more information about the publisher.

The WNA has complete profiles and photos of honorees who have been added to the pylon since 2007, but we would love to include more! If you have photos, profile information or an obituary for any of the publishers listed below, contact WNA Membership & Communications Director Julia Hunter.

    • Robert K. Coe
    • Whitewater Register
    • Charles B. Coe
    • Whitewater Register
    • Edwin D. Coe
    • Whitewater Register
    • Charles "Tom" Coe
    • Whitewater Register
    • C.F. Coffman
    • Fond du Lac Commonwealth Reporter
    • W.M. Comstock
    • Oconto County Reporter
    • William T. Comstock
    • Portage Daily Register
    • Francis (Bill) Connors
    • Daily Citizen, Beaver Dam
    • 1925 - 2008
    • William H. Conrad
    • Taylor County News, Medford
    • Everett M. Cooley
    • New Holstein Reporter
    • Richard Cooley
    • New Holstein Reporter
    • David R. Cooley
    • New Holstein Reporter
    • 1938 - 2011
    • Firman E. Cooper
    • Iola Herald
    • Lawrence V. Cowles
    • Loyal Tribune
    • D. J. Craig
    • Wauzeka Chief & Kickapoo Scout, Gays Mills
    • Vivian Craig
    • Wauzeka Chief and Kickapoo Scout, Gays Mills
    • John Creviere
    • De Pere Journal-Democrat
    • Marie S. Creviere
    • De Pere Journal
    • 1924-2002
    • Paul J. Creviere Sr.
    • De Pere Journal
    • 1924 - 2008
    • M.A. Crownhart
    • Grantsburg Journal
    • Gordon Crump
    • Cambridge News
    • Gordon O. Culver
    • Waushara Argus, Wautoma; New London Press Republican; Manawa Advocate; Hortonville Star
    • E. Bowden Curtiss
    • Republican Journal, Darlington
    • Ruth Curtiss
    • Republican Journal, Darlington
    • 1917 - 2015
    • Scott M. Cutlip
    • Professor of Journalism, UW-Madison
    • 1915-2000
    • Thomas R. Daniels
    • Middleton Times-Tribune
    • Betty Lou Dansin Stewart
    • Orfordville Journal & Footville News
    • 1926 - 2016
    • Violet Delany
    • Oregon Observer
    • Butler C. Delany
    • Poynette Press; Sauk Prairie Star; Oregon Observer; Verona Press; Fitchburg Star
    • Raymond L. DeVisser
    • Mukwonago Chief
    • Ross DeWitt
    • Glenwood City Tribune
    • Charles R. Dickoff
    • Black River Falls Banner Journal
    • Harold Doolittle
    • Pierce County Herald, Ellsworth
    • Stanley Doolittle
    • Pierce County Herald, Ellsworth
    • James F. Dorrance Jr.
    • The Chronotype, Rice Lake
    • 1929 - 2014
    • Chester Dorschner
    • The Delavan Enterprise
    • Lawrrence (Larry) E. Duren
    • Middleton Times-Tribune
    • 1927-2003
    • John J. Durst
    • Mosinee Times
    • 1957 - 2017
    • F.H. Eames
    • Claude (Mud) F. Eames
    • Elkhorn Independent
    • Martha Early Shea
    • Washburn County Register, Shell Lake
    • Philip J. Egan
    • Elroy Tribune Keystone
    • Robert Elkins
    • Thorp Courier
    • Hugh Ellison
    • Galesville Republican
    • Dwight Elmer
    • New Glarus Post
    • 1926 - 2015
    • Alice Emerson
    • DeForest Times-Tribune
    • Earl N. Emerson
    • DeForest Times Tribune
    • Mollyann G. Emerson
    • DeForest Times-Tribune