Sign In
Contact Us
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn You Tube

Teacher Resources & Sign Up

The Wisconsin Civics Games, an effort by the Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation to address a decline in civic education and engagement, will get underway in early 2019.

Each Civics Games team shall be comprised of up to four students from a public, private, parochial or homeschool in Wisconsin. Teams interesting in participating should sign up online by the extended deadline, Monday, Dec. 3.

Sign Up Form

Preparing for the Games

Teacher toolkits and student study guides prepared by the Wisconsin Policy Forum will be mailed to all teams that register for the Civics Games.

In addition to the teacher toolkits and the online resources provided below, sponsoring newspapers will be highlighting coverage that provides real-life, local examples of how the political process works.

Competition Information


Any school with more than one team interested in participating in the Wisconsin Civics Game shall host a local competition during the week of Jan. 10, 2019. The process for selecting a team to send to the district competition shall be determined by the high school. One team per high school shall advance to the regional competition.


Regional competitions shall be held the week of Feb. 2, 2019, at the following locations: Region One: UW-Barron County (Rice Lake); Region Two: UW-Stevens Point; Region Three: UW-La Crosse; Region Four: UW-Green Bay; Region Five: UW-Platteville; Region Six: UW-Madison; Region Seven: UW-Milwaukee. The two highest scoring teams from each regional competition will advance to the finals.


The state finals will be held Feb. 23, 2019, at the State Capitol in Madison.

Participating Schools

The following schools have signed up to participate in the Wisconsin Civics Games.

Arrowhead High School, Hartland
Ashwaubenon High School
Barron High School
Beaver Dam High School
Belleville High School
Beloit Turner High School
Big Foot High School, Walworth
Birchwood High School
Black Hawk High School
Black River Falls High School
Cassville High School
Cedarburg High School
Chequamegon High School
DeForest Area High School
Dodgeville High School
Edgewood High School, Madison
El Puente High School, Milwaukee
Freedom High School
Franklin High School
Glenwood City High School
Iowa-Grant High School
Jefferson High School
John Dewey Academy of Learning, Green Bay
La Crosse Logan High School
Lakeland Union High School, Minocqua
Lake Mills High School
Lancaster High School
Marshfield High School
Madison Memorial High School
Madison West High School
Medford Area Senior High School
Milton High School
Mishicot High School
Muskego High School
Necedah High School
North Division High School, Milwaukee
Northland Pines High School, Eagle River
Northwood High School, Minong
Onalaska High School
Osceola High School
Owen-Withee High School
Parkview High School, Orfordville
Platteville High School
Portage High School
Preble High School, Green Bay
Randolph High School
River Ridge High School, Patch Grove
Seneca High School
Seymour Community High School
South Division High School, Milwaukee
Stoughton High School
Valders High School
Waunakee High School
Whitewater High School
Winter High School

(Last updated: Dec. 13, 2018)

Want to receive emails from the WNA?


WordPress Video Lightbox